OFFICERS 2014-2016

NEAL KELLEY PRESIDENT Orange County

DEAN LOGAN VICE PRESIDENT Los Angeles County

SUSAN M.RANOCHAK TREASURER Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND SECRETARY Santa Barbara County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

KAMMI FOOTE Invo County

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County

KAREN RHEA Kern County

JULIE RODEWALD San Luis Obispo County

BEVERLY ROSS Tehama County

LARRY WARD Riverside County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Vallejo City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County

GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING ALLEN Shasta County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA
Bay Area
Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County

JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

KAREN RHEA Kern County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

NEAL KELLEY, PRESIDENT

Orange County Registrar of Voters 1300-C South Grand Ave., Santa Ana, CA 92705 P.O. Box 11298, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1298 714-567-7600 * Fax: 714-567-7627

E-Mail: neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

CACEO Secretary of State Transition Committee

Thursday, December 11, 2014
5:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.
2014 CRAC & CACEO New Law Workshop and Seminar
Hyatt Regency, Sacramento, Trinity Meeting Room (mezzanine level)

Minutes

Meeting was called to order by Neal Kelley at 5:10 p.m.

All committee members were in attendance (Neal Kelley, Orange County; Dean Logan, Los Angeles County; Sue Ranochak, Mendocino County; Joe Holland, Santa Barbara County; Cathy Darling Allen, Shasta County; Rebecca Martinez, Madera County; Mark Lunn, Ventura County; Bill Rousseau, Sonoma County; Jennifer Vise, Tehama County). Also in attendance was James Schwab from Secretary-Elect Alex Padilla's team.

Bill Rousseau opened by stating that he was looking forward to having an open dialog with the incoming Secretary of State; James Schwab stated it was his desire, as well as Secretary-Elect Padilla, to remain open; he will continue this theme throughout his term.

James informed the committee that Bill Mabie will be serving as Secretary-Elect Padilla's Chief of Staff; James will be based in Sacramento and Bill will be based in Los Angeles.

Neal Kelley asked James how he would like the committee to communicate with the office; James suggested a brief memorandum to the Secretary of State outlining the committee's goals and objectives; policy concerns; recommendations; etc.

Neal asked committee members to state their main concerns and offer suggestions on what the committee should focus on as a part of the transition.

Dean Logan noted that legislation would be critical to track and communicate; James offered that engagement on the policy side should be communicated earlier in the process.

Neal offered that the committee should engage on many of the themes discussed during the campaign (such as VoteCal; Cal-Access; voter engagement and election technology (and the possibility of a Bond Act to fund election equipment).

Bill stated that voting engagement will be key to turn out and suggested the committee offer suggestions on how the Secretary of State could engage statewide with voters.

The committee agreed that it would form a list of policy issues and interpreations made by the Secretary of State since 2006. It was agreed that members of the committee would track theses issues using CCROVs from 2006 to present. This would be used to form the committee's memo to the Secretary of State. Research on this project was divided up between committee members as follows:

2006 and 2007 (Neal) 2008 – 2010 (Dean)) 2012 (Bill) 2011 (Sue Ranochak) 2013 (Mark Lunn)

Officium Populi - Office of the People

• Page 2 December 31, 2014

The committee agreed to conduct its next meeting in January 2015 followed by a meeting with Secretary-Elect Padilla sometime in February 2015.

Committee members:

Neal Kelley, Orange County

Dean Logan, Los Angeles County

Sue Ranocheck, Mendocino County

Joe Holland, Santa Barbara County

Cathy Darling Allen, Shasta County

Rebecca Martinez, Madera County

Mark Lunn, Ventura County

Bill Rousseau, Sonoma County

Jennifer Vise, Tehama County